Help With Ideas For Clever Cake Stands

Decorating By onegr8girl Updated 7 Oct 2008 , 2:46am by bobwonderbuns

onegr8girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
onegr8girl Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 6:44am
post #1 of 6

I'm doing a cake for a fall themed wedding in a few weeks and I'm trying to think of some interesting ways to display a cake. I used clear thick plexiglass from tap plastics on some cubes for elevation one time that looked great. I was thinking a nice thick cut from a tree would make an interesting cake stand. Does anyone else have any ideas?

Thanks!

5 replies
dawncr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawncr Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 9:53am
post #2 of 6

I'm just a hobbyist, and I'm doing a family wedding in a few weeks. I considered a tree slab, too, and here's a post on the topic:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-591793-tree.html

I actually ended up with a wrought iron stand, on which I'll sit a covered masonite board. It's sort of rustic, and goes well with the fall colors with black accents of the wedding. It's nice and sturdy, and I don't think I'll have any problems, so long as I use a very strong plate base, like masonite. Here's that link:

http://tinyurl.com/4852br

They also have a 16.5 inch diameter one, too.

TJCanadian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TJCanadian Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 1:21pm
post #3 of 6

if you have a hollow plexiglass cube to put underneath the cake board, you could fill it with real or matching fondant/gumpaste leaves and/or acorns. Thats a nice picture in my head.

onegr8girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
onegr8girl Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 10:24pm
post #4 of 6

Thanks Dawn! I bought both to add to my offerings for my clients. Any other ideas? You guys are some of the most creative people I know. Not even just thinking about fall cakes, I'm thinking about ALL cakes!

dawncr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawncr Posted 7 Oct 2008 , 2:30am
post #5 of 6