What Kind Of Chocolate To Use?

Sugar Work By rudoo Updated 24 Oct 2009 , 4:51am by dawncr

rudoo Posted 3 Oct 2008 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 8

Hi, I'm new to candy making. I don't want to use the Wilton candy melts. What kind do I buy at the store? Can you use choc. chips? The baking choc. squares? I just got the molds for the choc. covered cookies and I do have some candy molds. Always hear about "tempering" chocolate. I don't even know what that is icon_confused.gif Any help, tips, would be great! Thanks, Jonna

7 replies
weirkd Posted 3 Oct 2008 , 10:56pm
post #2 of 8

Most cake decorating stores sells chocolate discs that are better than the Wilton. I know Ive seen Merkens? I think its called.
But tempering your chocolate means that you want to heat it to the right temperature so that the chocolate doesnt seize (get to be a globby mess).
Most of the time you can do this by having a large pot of boiling water and then either a glass bowl or stainless steel bowl that will fit over the top of the pan so that the chocolate can melt without getting water in it.
Then you just want to melt your chocolate, pour it into your molds, bang it a bit on the counter to get the air bubbles out, and then pop it into the freezer for about 8 minutes depending on the thickness of the mold. Then they should pop right out of the mold when your done!
You can go to several places on the internet that have these directions and more. One comes to mind is ...c...a...n..d..y...l...a..n..d...c..r...a..f...t..s...d..o..t...c...o...m. (you cant type business names of some places on this site without them getting blocked so I had to include the dots inbetween the letters!!)
Hope this helps!

rudoo Posted 5 Oct 2008 , 12:20pm
post #3 of 8

Thank you! icon_biggrin.gif

Narie Posted 5 Oct 2008 , 12:57pm
post #4 of 8

Using real chocolate and tempering it correctly can be tricky for the novice. Personally, I use chocolate coatings instead. Merkins is a good choice.