Renting A Commercial Kitchen

Business By mrscake Updated 13 Oct 2008 , 5:50pm by mrscake

mrscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrscake Posted 3 Oct 2008 , 3:30pm
post #1 of 5

I've been decorating for 8 years, and all the time it's been as a hobby. This year I decided to start the business and I checked all the regulations and I need a commercial kitchen. I'm going to rent the old kitchen of my son's school....they are charging $50 for 4 hours....for me sounds to expensive but I don't know..... I haven't been able to find another option in the area....I am in Missouri...Any suggestion will be deeply appreciated!!
Thanks!!

4 replies
CoutureCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoutureCake Posted 3 Oct 2008 , 6:45pm
post #2 of 5

O.k... Knowing you're going to put at least 15 hours of work into a wedding cake not including the time it's going to take to cool between the baking and crumb coating phases, plus washing dishes time.. If you take $250 from each cake and apply it towards a loan payment, figuring after the first three years you'll be making about 30 cakes/year if you want to keep things "small"... That's $7500/year to pay on the loan... If it costs you $50,000-60,000 for remodeling a space with some used, some new equipment, in 10-15 years you'll have it all paid off.

The lessons learned in hindsight on renting space from someone else...
1) You need a contract! I got told on a Tuesday I needed to be out today if possible, and had 5 truckloads worth of equipment stored there... and a competition cake due that weekend. Thankfully it was a competition cake and not a cake for a customer.