Stacked Cake Sliding? Help..

Decorating By StPete Updated 3 Oct 2008 , 12:06am by dawncr

StPete Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 1:18am
post #1 of 10

Okay.. newbie here... I have done several tiered cakes with buttercream icing... and it seems everytime the cake stacked slides and then it looks like it bulging out the side... what am I doing wrong???

icon_mad.gif

9 replies
Skirt Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 1:43am
post #2 of 10

I am certainly no expert icon_smile.gif but I think the cure to eliminate bulging is damming with extra stiff BC. After torting, let the cake set for a bit so if it does bulge a bit, you can scrape away the excess.
As for the layers sliding, what are you using to stack? Dowels? Stress-free supports? And what's under your cake? A cardboard disk or plastic plate? All can influence. But the most important thing is that your cake is LEVEL. HTH!

debster Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 1:45am
post #3 of 10

You should bake the cake and let it sit about 8 hours to settle then place a layer of cream stiff around the edge of the cake and fill the center. Then crumb frost and let sit again to see what it's going to do. Then I dowel it make sure all the dowels are the same size or use an sps system , it's shouldn't shift on you. HTH

indydebi Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 3:26am
post #4 of 10

Sorry, but I'm not sure what kind of sliding you're experiencing .... is the (for example) 6" tier sliding off of the 8" tier? Or is the top layer of the 8" tier sliding off of the bottom layer of the 8" tier?

My only slider was when someone slammed their on their brakes in front of me. The bottom tier ... the top layer slid about 1.5" off of the bottom layer. The brake-slamming was a factor, yes, but in looking at it, I think I had too much filling in that one. Definitely contributed to how "slick" it was between the layers and a definite factor in my slider.

StPete Posted 2 Oct 2008 , 9:00pm
post #5 of 10