I Applied For College!!

Lounge By melissablack Updated 8 Oct 2008 , 6:04pm by Pookie59

melissablack Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 4:16am
post #1 of 18

I kinda did things backwards...I had my kids & got married kinda young, and I've been staying home with them for the past 7 years. Well now I'm 30 and finally at a place where my youngest is starting school, and I've decided I really need to make a change and do something for ME, so I just applied for college tonight!! I know this is just the first step, but I've become so introverted and have such low self-confidence from just being home for so many years..I'm really proud of myself for taking the first step. I'm scared of the thought of going to school with a bunch of 19 year olds...I will feel so out of place icon_cry.gif
I'm really interested in business, but lately I've been seriously thinking about becoming a teacher. I volunteer at the kids' school and I just love it, and the kids love me.
Anyways, I'm just excited and wanted to share! Thanks for reading!! icon_biggrin.gif

17 replies
chutzpah Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 4:55am
post #2 of 18

Way to go!!!

You won't regret it.

thecakebox Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 5:55am
post #3 of 18

I can relate! I am very shy and introverted, totally a home-body, also married very young (19). I am 26 now and just started taking classes casually a couple years ago, my dh is 30 and he is a junior at university, I think it gives you a much better appreciation for everything when you wait. I notice that we take everything much more seriously than most of these 18 and 19 yr olds. I am glad that I waited because I had no idea what I was even interested in doing 8 years ago! I think you will be surprised at the diversity in college now, I am always in class with a pretty wide range of age groups and always found someone to talk to. Good luck, I think you will love it!

Mike1394 Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 8:59am
post #4 of 18