Ossas...what Was Your Experience? Mine...disappointing

Decorating By shellzey Updated 2 Oct 2008 , 1:53am by TJCanadian

shellzey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shellzey Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 4:03am
post #1 of 26

i was so excited to go to OSSAS this year. i'm new to cakes so this was the first i'd heard of it. i live in oklahoma city. i went with my husband and two little ones (3 & 1 1/2). i was supposed to be going by myself while my husband visited with friends. well they all ended up coming to the fair and i had to help chase kids. my little one ended up sick and we had to leave early.

i don't know what i was expecting but i guess i expected it to be more grand. maybe it was because it was at the fair or that it was bumper to bumper people. i wish it could be done at a big conference center or hotel. was hard to take time and really take in the details. does anyone else feel this way?

i tried to watch the demonstrations but it was standing room only and they had 4 small TVS to show the detail of the demonstrators. the camera people too seemed to get a lot of shots of the back of peoples heads too LOL

i guess my background in hosting large conferences and events made me knit pick a little.

i do wish i could have spent more time there though. some of the cakes were so fabulous.

25 replies
moydear77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moydear77 Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 4:16am
post #2 of 26

This competition is really a great way to discover new ideas. I tell everyone to spend the weekend seeing and taking everything in. There were fresh ideas and ones that have been revisited. I have blast every year I have gone. icon_smile.gif

shellzey Posted 28 Sep 2008 , 4:35am
post #3 of 26

i wish i could have stayed all weekend. *sniff sniff*
my poor little girl threw up 4 times on the way home. i hope she sleeps through the night.

please don't misunderstand me. i thought the event was fabulous. just thought the environment could be better =)