Opiion Needed

Decorating By maude Updated 28 Sep 2008 , 1:40pm by chutzpah

maude Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maude Posted 26 Sep 2008 , 11:48pm
post #1 of 20

I am doing a weding cake, black and white only. I am going to put black ribbon around the bottom of each tier and add some roses. Do you think I should add black leaves aroung the roses or just do the roses. I have never done black roses before. They will be made out of fondant. TIA

19 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 26 Sep 2008 , 11:50pm
post #2 of 20

The roses are going to be black?? Not my style.
Yah, if the roses are then go ahead & use a few blk leaves.

maude Posted 26 Sep 2008 , 11:54pm
post #3 of 20

She wants black roses because she is getting married around halloween. I asked twice to make sure that is really what she wanted. I don't think I would want to start a marriage off with black roses.

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 27 Sep 2008 , 12:08am
post #4 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by maude

She wants black roses because she is getting married around halloween. I asked twice to make sure that is really what she wanted. I don't think I would want to start a marriage off with black roses.

Maybe you can suggest really dark burgandy roses? I agree, black roses is kind of like bad luck, isnt it?

Janette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Janette Posted 27 Sep 2008 , 12:19am
post #5 of 20

I recently went to a wedding where the bride wanted the bouquet to be black roses. At the time she couldn't find black silk roses (this time of year they have them). She found some deep burgandy ones that worked and they were beautiful.

There is a lot of ways to go. You could make black & white roses using traditonal green leaves. Or go with white roses with black leaves. Be sure to go over it with the bride.