Is This My Obligation?

Decorating By MystiqueFire Updated 26 Sep 2008 , 1:19am by MystiqueFire

MystiqueFire Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 8

Hi I'm new to wedding cakes and I received my first wedding cake order the other day. My boyfriend is a pastry chef who has done cakes in the past for weddings but he was only in charge of making them, never assembling them or whatnot... anyway I was wondering as the actual baker of the cake, am I responsible for providing a cake stand? You know those large silver things that the cake sits on or am I just obligated to make the cake. I have a consultation with her next week, but I dont know what to say if that comes up. If I AM obligated to do this, where can I purchase them? Also, if anyone has any tips please let me know!

Thanks so much guys,
Jasmine

7 replies
ccr03 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 8

You are not obligated to do anything.
HOWEVER, as a big believer in good customer service, I think it would be best if you did. A one-stop shop is always easier for people and could big back business.

Depending on the style/size of her cake, you can find some on ebay and at Hobby Lobby. In my experience though, HL only has one size.

marccrand Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 8

I would just discuss it with the bride and ask what will work best. Check with her caterer and/or reception halls. Many have them available to use.

If there isn't one available I would offer to provide one. I agree with ccr03. If someone orders a cake from you, they don't want the hassle of trying to coordinate the bits and pieces of it, they just want a cake!

You can rent one from another reception hall (be sure to let her know you'll be passing along the rental fees) or you can buy one and keep it for your next order! thumbs_up.gif

CakesByJen2 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 8:05pm
post #4 of 8