Help! Need Tips On How To Frost A Cake Evenly!

Decorating By BakingBeezie Updated 28 Sep 2008 , 12:09pm by tiggy2

BakingBeezie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingBeezie Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 4:41pm
post #1 of 17

Hi there! I am new to baking, I'm super pro at just squirting some frosting onto a cupcake but I am epicly lost on how to evenly frost a sheet cake! I've tried 3 different times and still can not figure out how anyone gets thier frosting soo soomth. I'm not trying to frost anything complicated just as single layer sheet cake. Pls help any tips would be highly appreciated, I just want to have a decent looking cake at my sister and laws baby shower..
Thanks!

16 replies
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 4:47pm
post #2 of 17

Melvira's roller method works very well and is easy to do. Here's a link to the articl http://cakecentral.com/article83-Quick--Easy-Smooth-Icing-Using-a-Roller-Melvira-Method.html
Just be sure you get a high density roller as no other will work. Also use very light pressure or you will move the frosting around. Good Luck!

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 4:57pm
post #3 of 17

A lot depends on the buttercream you are using...I personally dont use a crusting buttercream, and use a good old fashion spakling knife you get at a hardware store. A lot of people also like to do their buttercream in one step..I do mine in layers. I do the crumb coat first, stick it in the fridge to get hard, do another thin coat and repeat. It gives a nice sharp edge and you don't have to fiddle with viva towels etc.
Make sure you sit down when you frost your cake so you can spin it around and see if it is even.

ranbel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ranbel Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 4:58pm
post #4 of 17

I also use the roller method, works great. The Viva (plain white, no pattern) also works well.