Best Icing For Decorating On Fondant Icing

Decorating By cakelovincrazy Updated 28 Sep 2008 , 1:56am by Skirt

cakelovincrazy Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 17

I'm new to cake decorating, this is the second "fancy" cake I will be making.
I'm going to make a barbie doll cake for my daughter's 6th b-day and will do the skirt with Fondant icing.
What is the best icing to use for decorating on top of fondant. The back of the barbie has a train with a ton of tiny flowers. I read somewhere on another site that some icing slides off the fondant. The party is going to be at a park, so will need to stand up to the outdoors, although the temp should be around low 80's.
I've attached a picture of the cake I am trying to replicate, this is what my daughter picked out.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate it. Oh, also I was planning on doing a chocolate cake with the cookies and cream filling for the bottom part of the cake, but what type of cake would be best for the barbie portion?
Thanks in advance icon_smile.gif
LL
LL

16 replies
bashini Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 17

Royal Icing is the best. icon_smile.gif

cakelovincrazy Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 5:45pm
post #3 of 17

Do you know of a royal icing recipe that doesn't have egg whites? My daughter is allergic to egg whites.

LIFE1234 Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 5:56pm
post #4 of 17

I agree with Bashini, royal icing is a good option, also it would be easy to erase if you make any mistakes. As for the cake top I would use either a white/yellow/strawberry cake with buttercream filling or perhaps even a delicious pound cake.

Skirt Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 5:58pm
post #5 of 17

You don't have to necessarily use fondant. You could use BC. That's what I did for my princess. Just a thought to avoid the egg white allergy... It's in my photos if you want to take a look.

cakelovincrazy Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 6:34pm
post #6 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirt