Mad Hatter Cake And Fondant

Decorating By weldress Updated 26 Sep 2008 , 1:01am by kate_c

weldress Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weldress Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 9:27pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone, I'm new to Cake Central. There is a lot of great info. I can't find an answer to my question though. So does anyone know how to put fondant on a mad hatter cake without it getting all wrinkled at the bottom of each tier? Any advice would be great. Thanks.

4 replies
mandifrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandifrye Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 9:47pm
post #2 of 5

Welcome to CC! You will become addicted to this site. There are so many great people with such a HUGE amount of knowledge that most are willing to share.

As far as smoothing fondant, it is a slow and steady process. It helps if you can elevate your cake to allow the fondant to hang freely over the edges (like on a coffee can). Does that make sense?? icon_confused.gif Then trim off the excess. Slowly go around the cake starting at 12 o'clock, then 6 o'clock, 3 o'clock and finally 9 o'clock. Then gradually work in between lifting and smoothing each wrinkle. I can't remember who, but someone told me "one wrinkle at a time"!

When you have it all smoothed, go around and cut off the excess again. Doing a madhatter in fondant is not really any different than any other cake as long as you start off with the proper sized piece.

HTH and good luck

Mandi icon_biggrin.gif

Rocketgirl899 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rocketgirl899 Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 9:48pm
post #3 of 5

Well this is a basic fondant question.. but I don't know how new you are so...

first you want to cover each tier individually, and then stack.

secondly.. check out a few of these sites for demos

Searching youtube in general is really nice icon_smile.gif good luck

weldress Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weldress Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 10:13pm
post #4 of 5

thanks for the help.

kate_c Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile