Covering A Moist Cake With Fondant

Decorating By Alison_Bukowski Updated 18 Oct 2016 , 4:09am by bstovall

Alison_Bukowski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alison_Bukowski Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 12:30pm
post #1 of 6

All:

This is my first time posting on Cake Central and I hope I am following proper etiquette. If not just let me know!

I have a question about a certain type of cake I am making and that I plan to cover with fondant. The cake is a traditional Puerto Rican wedding cake. It has a lot of butter and ALOT of eggs. When the cake is done baking and cooling, the recipe requires that you pour a brandy-flavored simple syrup on it. Here is my question: Will covering a saturated cake like this with fondant squeeze out the syrupy goodness and make a mess?

Has anyone ever tried this? If so, do you have any tips on how not to mess this up? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Alison

5 replies
smbegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smbegg Posted 25 Sep 2008 , 3:30pm
post #2 of 6

As long and the cake is sturdy, it shouldn't be a problem as most people put a simple syrup or jam on cakes before fondant to help adhear and keep crumbs out. But I wouldn't want to put fondant on a soaking wet cake. I am not sure how much liquid you put on, but that could cause the fondant to melt if it is excessive.

Stephanie

Alison_Bukowski Posted 26 Sep 2008 , 12:19pm
post #3 of 6

Stephanie:

Thanks for your reply! I don't think the cake will be that moist. I baked a practice cake last night and gave it the sponge bath the recipe called for. The cake was moist but not sopping and the fondant I put on the top didn't squeeze out of it or dissolve! Yay! Thanks for your help and advice!

msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 26 Sep 2008 , 12:27pm
post #4 of 6

You should also put a crumb coat of buttercream on the cake before putting the fondant on. This was help seal the moisture in the cake and help the fondant stick to it. Good Luck.