Doubting Myself - What Should I Do?

Business By CakesbyBecca Updated 26 Sep 2008 , 10:19pm by marmalade1687

CakesbyBecca Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyBecca Posted 23 Sep 2008 , 11:34pm
post #1 of 9

I am a cake hobbyist, not a licensed cake decorator yet. I've only been doing cakes since March. I've learned A LOT and my cakes are getting better and better, but I still have a lot to learn. Here's where I'm doubting myself. Because I'm not a licensed decorator, when people ask me for a quote, I let them know that I am not licensed, that I do this as a hobby and that I only have suggested donation amounts, not prices, and then I give them a suggested amount that is $1.50/serving for bc and $2/serving for fondant/ganache. I usually round it up or down so that I don't end up with prices like $41 or $72. It would be $40 or $70, that type of thing. Now here's what happened. I have a "customer" who ordered her birthday cake from me at $35 for an 8" round with ganache. Normally I would have quoted $40, but she had it filled with bc and only covered in ganache, so I asked a bit less. Then she asks me for a quote for 30 chocolate cupcakes with ganache. I quote her $1.25 a piece including decorations, plus $.15 each if she wants them filled. She turns me down at $1.40 a serving for custom decorated ganache cupcakes icon_surprised.gif. Her sister is interested in a cake to feed 70, so I give her several options, using the pricing scheme mentioned above. No response. I gave her the quote yesterday and she usually gets right back to me, but I haven't heard from her.
So now I'm wondering if I'm asking too much. I know that for the industry, my prices are low, but I'm not licensed and my cakes always have several flaws, although I am getting better.