Newbie Here

Decorating By EdibleAttitudes Updated 23 Sep 2008 , 10:32pm by KrisD13

EdibleAttitudes Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 8:57pm
post #1 of 14

Hello,
Recently I started playing with fondant and using the Ballina fondant. Im not sure if Im doing something wrong but I cant make bows or anything that needs to stand. It seems like it doesnt stiffen. Can someone point me in the right direction as to how to stiffen the fondant.

Also, anyone know of a good place to plearn how to make decorations? I made my first cake this weekend but I just wanted happy with it.
Thanks everyone!
Love the board
Dawn icon_biggrin.gif
LL
LL

13 replies
Deb_ Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 9:21pm
post #2 of 14

Hi Dawn,

Welcome to CC, get ready to become addicted very quickly.

I try to use gumpaste when I want to do a standup bow, it dries a lot stiffer and quicker than fondant. I'm not familiar with the fondant brand that you mentioned, so I can't offer any input on that. I couldn't see your picture, that seems to be a problem here sometimes.

Are there any Michael's Crafts in your area? They offer Wilton classes, it's a good place to start.

Good Luck,
Deb

EdibleAttitudes Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 9:24pm
post #3 of 14

Hi Deb,
Thanks so much, I think Im going to try the gumpaste. Someone else told me the same thing you did. The fondant just doesnt seem like its will stiffen hard enough. I have a Michaels by me and wouldnt you know I missed the Class #3 and have to wait 6 weeks for the next sign up. Figures icon_surprised.gif I have been making regular cakes for years and I just started with fondant enough that I have 3 cakes lined up in the next 2 weeks.

Thanks so much again and the warm welcome. thumbs_up.gif

angelatx Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 9:36pm
post #4 of 14

I think your cake is very prettifamous!!! icon_biggrin.gif

dmhart Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 9:50pm
post #5 of 14

Welcome Dawn!!! icon_razz.gif

Rocketgirl899 Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 11:15pm
post #6 of 14

Welcome!