How To Peel Off Fondant But Leave The Icing?

Decorating By allysons Updated 30 Sep 2008 , 1:09am by Sweet_Guys

allysons Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allysons Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 7:28pm
post #1 of 16

I'm a newbie to cake decorating, and lately I've been dipping my hands into fondant decorating. The only problem is, I've found that a lot of people aren't big fans of fondant (although I haven't tried MMF yet). icon_wink.gif I've iced the cakes with BC underneath so that if they don't care for it, they can just peel off the fondant, but every time I've made a cake this way, the BC comes off with the fondant.

Is there a trick to making the cake so that when the fondant is peeled off, the BC will stay on the cake? I've tried putting the cake in the fridge, but it worked 50/50.

Thanks!

15 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 7:34pm
post #2 of 16

Unfortunately, the fondant is supposed to cling to keep it from sliding off. If you use fondant other than Wilton, many people will eat it, and most of them will like it.

amy2197 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amy2197 Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 7:35pm
post #3 of 16

i'd just tell them to scrap the icing off the fondant with a fork. only way that always works!

pkinkema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pkinkema Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 7:44pm
post #4 of 16

Boy do I wanna add my 2 cents worth!

Do we forsake the taste of a wonderful cake for looks? NO WAY! Admittedly, I am a beginner and not a "pro", but anyone I bake for does not like fondant--MMF or other.

It's the texture more than the taste that is objectionable.

IMHO, fondant is great for accent decorations, but not for the icing on the cake!

Anyone else agree?????? For some reason this comes to mind: Pretty is as pretty does! <g>

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 7:55pm
post #5 of 16