Elegant Finger Food Ideas?

Lounge By MystiqueFire Updated 26 Sep 2008 , 1:10am by MystiqueFire

MystiqueFire Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 13

Alright Guys, I've got a question. I've been selected to head up the food spread for a CD release party. It's got to look nice and have nice finger foods on it. The problem is, I recently started a new job, and orders for cookies have been piling in, so I'm not going to have much time to cook. Because the CD party is also intertwined with a posh fundraiser for our local Prison Ministry, we're taking up donations from grocery stores for cash/credit to use at their stores... So catering isn't an option.

My question is, what are some simple yet elegant fingerfoods we can serve? The only thing I've come up with is shrimp cocktail from Costco (those big tubs of them that are like $50 a box), and someone suggested Swedish Meatballs (which I have no idea how to cook.)

Granted, I'm a cook by trade but my "simple" appetizers are a bit lacking. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Jasmine

12 replies
banba Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 13

you could look at a few "tapas" recipes on google.

Some of these can be pretty simple and offer a different selection to what you would normally find at finger food events.

Deb_ Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 8:43pm
post #3 of 13

How about some cantaloupe or fresh figs wrapped in very thin prosuitto (sp?)

I like to serve fresh mozarella balls and cherry tomatoes each wrapped in a fresh basil leave threaded on a cocktail pick (like a shish ka bob) than drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper. (like a caprice salad on a stick)

Another favorite- In the deli section you get those mini sliced cocktail pumpernickel breads. Mix 1/2 c. mayo with 1tsp horseradish, spread a tiny amt on each piece of bread, top with shredded swiss cheese and half a calamata olive
Pop under the broiler for 1 - 2 min til bubbly. They are soo good, sometimes I place a shrimp on each one too.