Please Give Me Some Critism On My Decorating...

Decorating By mommy_of_3_DDs Updated 29 Sep 2008 , 5:41am by jjandhope

mommy_of_3_DDs Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 18

I have been decorating for 1 year now and am trying to decide if I have the skills needed to keep this up (possibly full time). So please take a look at my pics and give me some honest feed back on my cakes. Are my cakes getting better? Or should I toss in the towel and stick to cakes just for my kids?

I guess I should also add that I have not taken any classes and I am self taught. Should I take the Wilton classes?

Thank you for helping me!

17 replies
SeriousCakes Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 7:18pm
post #2 of 18

I can't give any advice about taking the classes, that would really depend on what else you want to learn I think. I think your cakes look great and your little figurines are definitely up to par icon_biggrin.gif

jenny518 Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 11:10pm
post #3 of 18

I think your cakes are very nice! But, only you can make the decision about doing cakes fulltime. As for the classes, I am taking Wilton #1 and it has really been a waste of my time. I didn't know you could start w/ other classes if you had experience, so I'm stuck... I think the fondant/gumpaste classes might be good if you need experience with them, though.

ShortcakesSweets Posted 22 Sep 2008 , 5:13am
post #4 of 18

I think you have definite talent. I really think you would benefit from taking the classes, though. I took what I thought were Wilton course I & II about 16 years ago. It turned out the lady wasn't really a Wilton instructor, but I didn't find that out until after "Course II." I played around with it a little after that but got discouraged and didn't do many cakes for a long time. In 2005 I became interested again and took the Wilton Courses from Hobby Lobby. I learned the correct methods and benefited so much this time around. I have also learned a great deal from CC.