Just A Vent. Should I Contiue Or Forget It

Decorating By jayden520 Updated 20 Feb 2009 , 2:43pm by -K8memphis

jayden520 Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 2:06am
post #1 of 13

Im a newbie at cakes i want to start my own business one day but for now im a home baker an have been making cakes for a little over a year. I have one customer who have been purchasing from me from the start but recently i notice my orders have been messed up (only with her). The last order i made 150 redvelvet cup cakes for her and she said they were dry icon_cry.gif but i make a birthday cake the same night and it was fine icon_biggrin.gif . The one before that i made two 12 in. cakes one redvelvet and one pound and she said the pound looked like it fell icon_cry.gif . Right now i feel like giving up. i work mon- fri and have a super curious 15 month old. Should i contiue or should i give up i need advice. I was thinking maybe it was the new muffin pans i purchased i dont know icon_sad.gif help pleassssssse!!!!!!

12 replies
indydebi Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 3:26am
post #2 of 13

I hope I can be the first to welcome you to CC! It's the greatest place for cake folks, no matter how long you've been doing cakes. I'd been making cakes for over 20 years and I've learned more in 2 years on here than I did in those first 20 years. You will always find someone who has the answer to what you are looking for!

Can you post any of your pics so we can see your talents? (That's my favorite part on here ... browsing the galleries to see the awesome cakes! icon_biggrin.gif )

Having a full time job and a little one at home is a full plate to start with. It can be done ... many have done it. But if you have to step back once in awhile and take a break, then do it! It's very easy to hit burn out in this biz. And if you really luv doing this, then you don't want to burn out so early.

Space yourself ... schedule time for you and your little one. Keep caking and havin' fun!

jjcakes Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 5:58am
post #3 of 13