I found this recipe on the web and I tried it tonight. (it seems very similar to Toba Garret's recipe, however it is written "as vegan", so no need to convert any ingredients.)
HTH It was super easy, and not at all messy to make.
thanks for sharin........bump!
Anytime ... BUMP
Gee, I sure wish they'd create a "vegetarian/vegan" thread...
Here's a question...I thought gelatin was not vegan. Is that wrong?
The recipe says the use agar flakes which I know are vegan...but what about gelatin like Knox?
acookieobsession, I think that was the point of the recipe alteration; although the original (nonvegan) recipe states "gelatin" they substituted agar flakes in order to make it vegan.
Thanks for the post; although I am not vegetarian, I do have a vegetarian friend whose baby shower cake I am hoping to make. Of course, as Leahs always says , Satin Ice is vegan. However if you don't have any around, it's nice to know you don't have to forgo fondant if you need it for your cake.
I've wanted to try Satin ice, it would be more convenient, but shipping costs are expensive. I'll eventually try it.
I know, shipping will kill you . Worse yet, the cake supply store near me sells it for $18.00 for the 2-lb tub!! G lobal Sugar Art sells the same tub for under $7...but, with shipping, it comes to...you guessed it...$18.00 .
OMG, thanks ceshell! I found this thread n recipe for vegan fondant thanks to your post on the Silk Ice thread LOL!
Unfortunately this vegan recipe from epicurious (in the link in the above post) is the one I've already treid 3 times!! ARGHHHHH every time has been a waste of ingredients, and has made me want to pull my hair ou!! The agar, does nothing for the recipe, so It cracks all over the place, it's not pliable, I mean nothing, nothing to do with store bought!! I mean I was litterally crying every time...And my hubby or kids couldn't even talk to me cause I was in a horrible mood cause of my failure!! hahah
I would so love a vegetarian thread!!!! Maybe I can start one??? hmmm
Hi! Have just found out the Renshaw's ready to roll fondant is suitable for vegans. Â I know that it is readily available here in the UK so hopefully in the US too!
AI haven't tried this recipe myself, but thought it might be helpful to share that SOME kosher gelatins are vegan, like http://store.veganessentials.com/liebers-unflavored-jel-p1760.aspx.
Also, be careful with glycerin. Sometimes that can be made from animals and therefore not vegan. If the bottle doesn't say made from vegetable sources, or vegetarian, you can call the company and ask for the source if the glycerin.