Cookie Bouquet Business

Baking By cmilligan Updated 22 Sep 2008 , 10:42pm by indydebi

cmilligan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmilligan Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 10:33pm
post #1 of 14

Ok ladies, I am still fairly new at all of this. I have been decorating cakes off and on for friends and family for about a year now. (which reminds me I really need to update my pics) I would eventually like to get into more cake decorating such as wedding cakes and things.

I have had an overwhelming amount of calls here lately of people wanting me to make cookie bouquets for them. There is not a bakery or anything anywhere in town that does any cakes, cookes, pies, etc except walmart! Indiana does not license home bakeries unless you have a complete seperate kitchen, which I do not have! I recieved a phone call today from a friend today who runs a floriest. She said she is getting more and more calls for cookie bouquets and wants to know if I would be willing to make them for her. She said I could sell them outright and she would jsut give people my price sheet and my contact information. I guess I just need some opinions on this. I don't know waht to do. I don't want to get in trouble, but I dont' want to pass this opportunity up either! I didn't know what laws would apply to cookie bouquets. Any Advice?

13 replies
MaisieBake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaisieBake Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 11:18pm
post #2 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmilligan

I don't want to get in trouble

Then don't sell food to people you don't know personally until/unless you're legal.

MaisieBake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaisieBake Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 11:19pm
post #3 of 14
Quote:

I don't want to get in trouble.

Then don't sell food to people you don't know personally until/unless you're legal.

yankeegal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yankeegal Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 11:21pm
post #4 of 14

Could you rent a licensed kitchen somewhere?

cmilligan Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 1:10am