How Do I Stop This From Happening Again?

Decorating By kel58 Updated 21 Sep 2008 , 10:46am by linedancer

kel58 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kel58 Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 1:37am
post #1 of 23

Hello everyone. I'm very new to decorating and ran across a problem this morning. I was baking a 13x9 sheet cake this morning using a Betty Crocker mix and got a little suprise when i went to check if it was done. I followed the directions on the box, but my edges of the cake were only about an inch thick, but the middle was probably closer to 3 inchs. So ,once I leveled it, I ended up with an inch high cake! I am I correct to assume that its becasue the edges cooked too fast? How can I stop this from happening again? Im going to have to make another layer to put on top of my tiny one. Could I adjust my oven temp? Oh and I did use food colouring to colour the batter fun colours, but I have never had that make a difference before so i'm guessing that isnt he issue.
Thanks for any insite
Kelly

22 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 1:41am
post #2 of 23

Yes, definitely turn you oven temp down. 325 or even 300

Audraj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Audraj Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 1:46am
post #3 of 23

Also, a 9x13 cake, if you want it to rise enough to be 2" high, requires one and a half cake mixes. Usually, I don't level a 9x13 cake. It does rise a bit higher in the middle, but if I use more than one mix, the sides rise up a lot more and the difference isn't that much. I then ice so the top is level, using more icing around the edges where it's lower.

Mac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mac Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 1:52am
post #4 of 23

Also try "Bake Even" strips from Wilton.

I use 2 mixes in my Fat Daddio 9X13 pan and then level it off--perfect every time.

CakesNwine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesNwine Posted 20 Sep 2008 , 2:04am
post #5 of 23