How Do You Deal With Criticism?

Decorating By CrazyCakes13 Updated 19 Sep 2008 , 11:16pm by kakeladi

CrazyCakes13 Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 7

I am new to selling cakes and mostly selling to friends and family and the odd co-worker. I have such a hard time taking criticism! I know that they are a paying customer so they have the right to be picky (been on the other side myself), but I find that I am just super sensitive about this. How do you deal with that? How do you not take it personally or do I just not have the right personality for this?

6 replies
cylstrial Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 8:34pm
post #2 of 7

I'm surprised that your family and friends would be that critical of you. Normally, we are our own worst critics.

However, when someone is critical of me, I just take it in stride and really try to improve upon whatever the issue is. It will just make me a better person, cake decorator, employee..whatever the situation is.

You are cut out for this! Just listen to them...and then if they are valid, learn from them..if not, throw them out the window!

Mencked Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 8:39pm
post #3 of 7

I usually don't ask for opinions about cakes I've made or point out things that I may think are sub-par on a cake I've made (and we all see things on our cakes that only we think are less than perfect !) Be confident when presenting the cake you've made to your customer/friend/family/co-worker and don't invite criticism (or honest feedback) ie. "I hope this is what you wanted..." or "Does this look OK?" if you really don't think you're able to deal with it...We are always our own worst critics anyway! I do however love it when a customer tells me they love the cake I've done for them!! Makes my day!

tracycakes Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 10:03pm
post #4 of 7