Vegetarian Fondant! Please Help...

Decorating By bubusmom Updated 24 Sep 2008 , 8:16pm by juleskaye518

bubusmom Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 3:25pm
post #1 of 15

My family and all our friends are vegetarian, so I can't use Marshmallow or gelatine in my fondant. Can anyone please share any alternative recipe for rolled fondant? Thanks in advance. icon_smile.gif

14 replies
leah_s Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 3:29pm
post #2 of 15

SatinIce is actually vegan.

panchanewjersey Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 3:51pm
post #3 of 15

That's nice to know, I never knew there was vegan fondant. So there's no gelatin in Satin Ice?

cupcakemkr Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 3:53pm
post #4 of 15

you can try to make MMF with vegan marshmellows/rice marshmallow creme or you could try rolled buttercream, http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Rolled-Buttercream-Fondant/Detail.aspx

good luck!

leah_s Posted 18 Sep 2008 , 4:47pm
post #5 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by panchanewjersey

So there's no gelatin in Satin Ice?




Umm . . .of course not. If there was gelatin in it it woudn't be vegetarian or vegan.

bubusmom Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 1:40pm
post #6 of 15

Thank you for your replies! It helped me a lot. icon_biggrin.gif

jammjenks Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 5:40pm
post #7 of 15

I am admittedly ignorant about vegan and vegetarian diets. What is in gelatin and marshmallows that makes them not vegetarian? Just curious.

costumeczar Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 5:54pm
post #8 of 15

Gelatin is made from animal hooves...

bubusmom Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 5:57pm
post #9 of 15

Gelatin is a protein produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from the bones, connective tissues, organs, and some intestines of animals such as the domesticated cattle, and horses. On a commercial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industry, mainly pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides.

Marshmallows, JellO all contain gelatin. So, not suitable for a Vegetarian or Vegan diet.

jammjenks Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 6:00pm
post #10 of 15

Oh, geez....now THAT's appetizing!

...and I'm a carnivore!

just_for_fun Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 6:45pm
post #11 of 15

kosher marshmallows are also vegetarian

bubusmom Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 6:50pm
post #12 of 15

I was reading up online and Kosher marshmallows have fish bones in it instead of pork. Us being Hindu vegetarians (from India) don't consume fish or any products derived from fish. icon_sad.gif

Thanks for replying though! icon_smile.gif

just_for_fun Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 7:52pm
post #13 of 15

sorry bout that. thanks for educating me!! icon_smile.gif

bubusmom Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 8:27pm
post #14 of 15

No worries!!! icon_biggrin.gif
Thanks a bunch again for reading my post and replying. icon_smile.gif

juleskaye518 Posted 24 Sep 2008 , 8:16pm
post #15 of 15

I have been looking for this!!!! Thank you. See by asking questions we can all get something out of it. I am doing a little cake tomorrow for a friend and wanted to do fondant, but she is a veggie. Yeah...I can do fondant. I even went to a veggie website and learned more than I EVER wanted to know about gelatin. (Including that bit about kosher marshmallows)
-Julia

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%