How Are Your Kitchen And Supplies Arranged?

Decorating By jjandhope Updated 20 Sep 2008 , 5:49am by KoryAK

jjandhope Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jjandhope Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 19

I just know with all the meticuous cakes out there that some of you have also put together an awesome and efficient kitchen layout. Me, I'm not too good at organizing. Some of you may even have a graphic of your kitchen's layout (especially if you cook commercially).

I need to know everyhting from stove placement, to how to put my flour and spices within reach in my new commercial kitchen. Do you have a system for organizing and finding colors, extracts, spices, baking powder, etc. Right now, I am just digging through cabinets till I find whatb I need. In my new kitchen, I can design whatever I want, so please share! I know a lot of it depends on space, but please share what has worked for you:

How do you keep things at hand and save steps in the kitchen?

18 replies
Cyndi1207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cyndi1207 Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 6:01pm
post #2 of 19

Arranged??? What does that mean.......Lol.......I kidd.

I'm currently trying to set my new kitchen up so I would love to know what everyone's answers are as well. Great question!!!

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 6:14pm
post #3 of 19

The best thing I can tell you is a lot of open shelving. Don't be tempted to store things in cabinets and drawers. You'll spend more time digging around looking for stuff. Fill as much space as you can with open shelving (metro racks, etc) and then organize from there (clearly labeled clear plastic bins for organizing colors, small bottles, cookie cutters, tools, etc). I also like to hang a lot of my tools (spatulas, whisks, etc) somewhere in several spots around the kitchen where I might need them so I'm not wasting steps back and forth.