My Topsy Was A Flopsy

Decorating By Trance Updated 16 Sep 2008 , 12:49pm by SweetResults

Trance Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trance Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:20am
post #1 of 20

Hello-
I did my 1st Topsy Turvey cake this weekend and unfortunatly I had some issues. The fondant started to crack especially on the bottom tier and the fondant also started to sag at the bottom. The instructions I had to make this cake was...freeze ,carve and cover because it was easier. I think the cake started to settle causing the problems. Any suggestions....I'm still sick about this!!

Thanks,
Trance

19 replies
lynda-bob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lynda-bob Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:40am
post #2 of 20

So sorry. I've done a few of these, and with a couple of different methods. All of them turned out fine, but I've never frozen them. Actually, I never freeze any of my cakes. I'm no expert, but I would think that freezing has to change the cake once it's defrosted. I know I've heard that lots of experts do this but like I say, I'm no expert icon_redface.gif

Hopefully someone w/ more experience can give you a more definitive answer.

Don't give up, though. Make sure you try another one really soon thumbs_up.gif

Lynda

bettinashoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bettinashoe Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:53am
post #3 of 20

Humidity can reek havoc on fondant. My first (and only) topsy cake was great at the house but by the time I got it to the party it was faltering and sagging. It was fresh, not frozen and the problem, I believe, was the heat and humidity. Don't give up on it. Just wait until the weather is better. I'm planning another one next month.

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 12:36pm
post #4 of 20