Regular Butter Verses Unsalted

Decorating By Ariginal Updated 14 Sep 2008 , 5:55am by Ariginal

Ariginal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ariginal Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 11:21pm
post #1 of 7

Hi, excuse my ignorance and its not like i am new at this but i was wondering if anyone can tell me what difference there really is in using unslated butter in a recipe instead of regular butter?

I see so many recipes that require unsalted butter and wonder why this is apart from the fact that unsalted is way more expensive than regular butter. I have often replaced the unsalted butter with Margarine instead doesnt seem to affect it at all still tastes fab and then people with dairy allergies can eat it without concern.

So anyways i would love to hear from anyone who can clear this burning question for me thanks in advance.

6 replies
terrig007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrig007 Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 7

I think the primary reason is to control the salt content of whatever you're baking. I know sometimes if it's all I have, I omit the salt in the recipe and it generally has turned out fine-can't remember a time it didn't to be honest. But I think that may be about the only difference. I know one time watching Ina Garten on tv, she mentioned about controlling the salt as well.

stsapph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stsapph Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 11:33pm
post #3 of 7

From what I have heard, and I am still new at this so I could be wrong, but by using the unsalted butter, you can better control the salt in your recipes. However, I have also heard that if you have to use salted butter, you can either cut out or cut down the amount of salt you put in. Hopefully one of the baking geniuses will have a better answer for you, as I'm sure there are other reasons for it as well.

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 11:40pm
post #4 of 7