How Long Were You @ Home Before Getting A Storefront?

Business By mom2spunkynbug Updated 14 Sep 2008 , 11:32pm by loriemoms

mom2spunkynbug Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 4:41pm
post #1 of 8

I'm currently a licensed at-home baker. I'm getting more & more anxious to open a shop soon because NO ONE around here does what I do.

There is one bakery but they are way old fashioned and also make breads & tons of other stuff for local small restaurants, etc. They say they specialize in wedding cakes but they really don't LOL

I'd like to hear from previous at-home bakers, now shop owners...

How long were you in business at home before moving in to a shop?

How many cakes (on average) were you making per week/per month before you decided to move into a shop?

How much money were you bringing in (not including expenses) before you decided to move into a shop? (You can pm me this if you don't want to answer here.)

And approximately how much money should I have before even thinking about getting a shop? (I know I'd need a loan too)

I want to do this soon (my heart wants to), but I know it won't happen for a while (my wallet won't let me LOL).

I don't have tons of orders right now...a good amount though. And I think that having a shop would allow the rest of the world see me, know what I mean? There are several places available for rent right now on main strips & it's just killing me! lol

Thanks for any info you'd like to share with me!

7 replies
mom2spunkynbug Posted 11 Sep 2008 , 3:09am
post #2 of 8

Is there anyone out there who had a home business before getting a store/shop?

indydebi Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 12:03am
post #3 of 8

The actual answer is I made cakes off and on for 25 years before I opened a shop. What I refer to as 'the resurrection' of this biz occured 4 years before I opened the shop.