Honest Opinions About Satin Ice Taste

Decorating By pinkyEm Updated 15 Sep 2008 , 10:26pm by apetricek

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 5:57am
post #31 of 47

I dont like the taste, smell or working with Satin Ice. Its tooo soft. I find it almost impossible to cover very large pieces with. It stretches too much, even after you put the fondant on and start working with it. I also have found it to hard to smooth because its so soft, you can't get a nice smooth surface. I perfect to use massa, but can't afford it, so I use fond-x. It has almost no taste, and is easier to work with and cost the same as Satin Ice. Although I am still not a fondant expert. 90 percent of my cakes are still buttercream. I just haven't discoved the real secret of how to get fondant super smooth..I can make a smoother cake with buttercream. And most of my brides prefer buttercream as well.

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 11:49am
post #32 of 47

Oops! I meant to say that it's me, not the recipe (Michele Foster's), that is the problem!

Also, I think I made like 3-4 pounds of fondant for about $5. Satin Ice is costing me $3 per pound. Still not bad, but that's a big savings if I made it myself!

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 11:51am
post #33 of 47

loriemoms....We are having the exact opposite problems! LOL! I can't smooth buttercream to save my life! Not that I'm an expert in the fondant field, far from it, but I can cover small cakes okay. If I could just find a crusting buttercream recipe that has butter in it......still can't get any BC to crust for me! I tell ya, I'm a buttercream/fondant recipe killer.

SweetResults Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetResults Posted 12 Sep 2008 , 12:34pm
post #34 of 47