Starting A Business

Decorating By pamiez Updated 16 Sep 2008 , 12:55pm by pamiez

pamiez Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 2:44pm
post #1 of 7

Hello my CC friends,

I have been baking cakes for around 6 years now. I love it and would like it to be my full time job. I do work as a Marketing Coordinator, 30 hours a week, but find myself daydreaming of my own home cake business. I want this so bad I can taste it (no pun intended), BUT am afraid to take that leap because of all the "What Ifs"

What if I'm not busy enough to help cover the bills?
What if I'm not good enough?
What if I will be giving out more than taking in?
HOW DO I CONVINCE THE HUBBY THIS WOULD BE A GOOD THING?

I just don't know where to start. I have an extra room to convert into a 2nd kitchen, so I can be legal by our Counties Health Dept. and the cousin who's in construction to help keep costs low. I just can't seem to push myself enough to make the leap. I keep looking for the right part-time job to pay the bills, be home with the girls and do the cake thing. I do have regular clients and would have a tone of teachers at our daughters' school if I was legal, but am so scared that I would put my family is such debt, that Bankruptcy would not be fare behind.

Maybe I'm over thinking and stressing too much. Any advice or stories on how you "made your leap" would be very helpful.

I live in Western New York about 30 minutes from Niagara Falls. So if anyone out there is from my area and has specific pointers, I'd love to hear them.

Thanks so much and Happy Caking!

6 replies
gingersoave Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 7

I had my own business out of my home but was not "legal", I just did cakes for "donations". Maybe you could start that way just to see if your business will take off during construction???

I want to get my own shop someday but with the economy the way it is (here in Virginia at least) it would not be a good time to start up a cake shop, so many little businesses are closing.