Whats Up With The Taste

Decorating By nicegurl222 Updated 6 Sep 2008 , 9:31pm by paulstonia

nicegurl222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicegurl222 Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 8:24pm
post #1 of 7

hi, i dont use fondant but i am thinking to start. can i have any tips. also how does fondant taste. reply asap. thx icon_biggrin.gificon_razz.gificon_biggrin.gificon_smile.gificon_biggrin.gificon_smile.gificon_biggrin.gificon_smile.gif

6 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 7

A lot of people don't like the taste of fondant from my experience. I have heard on CC that people like MMF -- but I have yet to try it myself.

What tips do you want to know about fondant? What's your plan for the cake you are making.. that will help us figure out what to tell you.

KrissieCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrissieCakes Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 8:34pm
post #3 of 7

I'm a newbie to cake decorating, so I have not tried MMF yet, but I've tried a couple of different fondants. The Wilton brand tastes terrible. I've even tried adding flavors - I've tried vanilla and I've tried butter flavoring, but it's still terrible tasting. Then I heard about Satin Ice - I have a pretty good sweet tooth, so I think it tastes great. My 3-year old grabs chunks of it everytime I try to make a cake with it! It comes flavored with vanilla - and they have fondant that is already colored, so when doing black, red, or another deep color, it's much easier to use than kneading in the color yourself!

cylstrial Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 8:38pm
post #4 of 7

Yes! Someone recommended Satin Ice to me. I finally found a store that carries it.. so I'm going to go and get some this week. The color scheme will definitely turn out better because I can never get the colors that I want.

paulstonia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paulstonia Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 8:58pm
post #5 of 7