Rose Buds

Decorating By cookiekisses Updated 7 Sep 2008 , 9:46pm by KlyKat

cookiekisses Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 8:42pm
post #1 of 13

I am a self-taught baker and decorator. I took a class to boost my skills. The instructor taught me how to make full roses, which are stunning but she forgot to teach me the technique for buds--please help!!
Thanks

12 replies
AsburyArt Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 8:57pm
post #2 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiekisses

I am a self-taught baker and decorator. I took a class to boost my skills. The instructor taught me how to make full roses, which are stunning but she forgot to teach me the technique for buds--please help!!
Thanks

In what medium? BC, royal, gumpaste, fondant???

dandelion56602 Posted 5 Sep 2008 , 8:56pm
post #3 of 13

I've wondered about the BC rosebuds that are piped directly onto a cake. I can't figure those things out to save my life.

kakeladi Posted 5 Sep 2008 , 11:19pm
post #4 of 13

The best hint there is about making rose buds right on a cake is to use tip 63. It's not available in many usual places (like Michael's) but you can order it directly from Wilton if you don't have any cake supply stores near by.

All you have to do is pipe a shell; add a caylex and WHALLA.......almost instant rose bud!

bobwonderbuns Posted 5 Sep 2008 , 11:29pm
post #5 of 13

Geez, I'm really good at the buttercream rosebuds but I can't think of how I can explain how to do them and still make sense! icon_rolleyes.gificon_lol.gif

jibbies Posted 6 Sep 2008 , 12:04am
post #6 of 13

I am going to try to explain this technique.