Wedding Pricing - Getting Frustrated In Alabama

Business By poshcakedesigns Updated 6 Sep 2008 , 12:33am by Deb_

poshcakedesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poshcakedesigns Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 12:32pm
post #1 of 24

O.k. I've been a licensed baker for over a year now and getting a bit frustrated about the amount of wedding orders I'm booking icon_sad.gif

I'm have absolutely NO problem getting non wedding orders at $2.25 per slice for buttercream and $3.00 for fondant. This past week I've gotten 4 wedding order request. Of course I quoted them the same price as I do for non occassion cakes. You would have thought I was trying to rob these people blind with that price.

I've checked around and prices in my area are all over the board, so now I'm doubting my prices. There is no way I can lower my prices and make a descent profit and still pay rent. All of the non wedding orders I'm getting are for less than $200 each which isn't bad but I can't do but so many 3d cakes each weekend.

Any licensed Alabama bakers out there that can give some insite?

23 replies
poshcakedesigns Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 24

anyone ? icon_rolleyes.gif

holoien003 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
holoien003 Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:42pm
post #3 of 24

If your prices are what you need to make to run a business then don't doubt yourself.

You don't want to be the cheapest decorator around, don't sell yourself short. Your services and your cakes are worth it.

Laura102777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laura102777 Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:57pm
post #4 of 24