Has Anyone Taken The Wilton Fondant/gumpaste Class?

Decorating By tanyascakes Updated 10 Sep 2008 , 4:12am by xstitcher

tanyascakes Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 2:48am
post #1 of 28

Hi, everyone. I am considering signing up for this class. I actually found one at a hobby lobby in the next town over. But I am wondering if it is even worth trying to take. I haven't really done too much wth fondant at all, so I thought it might be a kick. Or should I just keep working on it myself. I am mostly self taught. (I had a neighbor teach me some basic stuff from when she had taken the wilton 1-3 classes years ago.) I think I am doing okay, but I could use something to do since I am not making cakes right now-I just moved back from Germany. Any advice from someone who has taken this class would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Tanya

27 replies
pastriegirl Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 3:11am
post #2 of 28

I took the class and it was worth taking. It doesn't hurt to take the class cuz there are other people that you might learn different things from. The tools one uses for working w/fondant and how it all pieces together.d

shadowgypsie Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 3:38am
post #3 of 28

I am a Wilton Instructor and I think you would like the class. The techniques you learn in the fondant/gum paste class can then be used to learn to make other More advanced things.

My students love the class.

tanyascakes Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:03am
post #4 of 28

Thanks for all the good news on the class. I am going to go to the store in the morning to get all signed up. Are you given the things you need for class or do I have to purchase them seperately? Any cool tools that you think I might be needing? Thanks again!

Copacabanya Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:09am
post #5 of 28