Which Cake Mix....

Decorating By hwnhulahands Updated 7 Sep 2008 , 12:15am by Deniro

hwnhulahands Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hwnhulahands Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 1:13pm
post #1 of 17

do you use? Duncan Hines, Betty Crocker, Pillsbury, Store Brand, or make from scratch? If you make from scratch, what recipe do you use?

16 replies
PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 1:36pm
post #2 of 17

I'm a scratch baker, but I don't have one recipe,but rather a huge collection of recipes that I refer to. Some I learned in culinary school, some are old family favorites, others I developed on my own. I don't see anything wrong with mix baking if that's what you like, it's just not my preference.

snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 4:49pm
post #3 of 17

I use whatever is on sale - never noticed a difference, but I know there are die-hard fans of some brands. Unfortunately, I don't have any family recipes handed down through the ages! So, I just try various scratch recipes that are rated highly on different sites.

Shelly4481 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly4481 Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 7:11pm
post #4 of 17

I am a Pilsbury fan, I usually add a scoop of sour cream or flavor (cream bouquet or princess emulsion) and sometimes nothing. I haven't had the best luck from scratch so I prefer this.

pottedmeatchunks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pottedmeatchunks Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 9:38pm
post #5 of 17

i buy whatever is cheapest between duncan hines, betty crocker, or store brand IF it does not have pudding already in the mix. i never buy pillsbury for this reason.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 10:54pm
post #6 of 17

Betty Crocker for almost 30 years and my customers all love it!

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 10:59pm
post #7 of 17

Betty Crocker for me too, 20 years.