Which Cake Mix....

Decorating By hwnhulahands Updated 7 Sep 2008 , 12:15am by Deniro

hwnhulahands Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 1:13pm
post #1 of 17

do you use? Duncan Hines, Betty Crocker, Pillsbury, Store Brand, or make from scratch? If you make from scratch, what recipe do you use?

16 replies
PinkZiab Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 1:36pm
post #2 of 17

I'm a scratch baker, but I don't have one recipe,but rather a huge collection of recipes that I refer to. Some I learned in culinary school, some are old family favorites, others I developed on my own. I don't see anything wrong with mix baking if that's what you like, it's just not my preference.

snowshoe1 Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 4:49pm
post #3 of 17

I use whatever is on sale - never noticed a difference, but I know there are die-hard fans of some brands. Unfortunately, I don't have any family recipes handed down through the ages! So, I just try various scratch recipes that are rated highly on different sites.

Shelly4481 Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 7:11pm
post #4 of 17

I am a Pilsbury fan, I usually add a scoop of sour cream or flavor (cream bouquet or princess emulsion) and sometimes nothing. I haven't had the best luck from scratch so I prefer this.

pottedmeatchunks Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 9:38pm
post #5 of 17

i buy whatever is cheapest between duncan hines, betty crocker, or store brand IF it does not have pudding already in the mix. i never buy pillsbury for this reason.

kakeladi Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 10:54pm
post #6 of 17

Betty Crocker for almost 30 years and my customers all love it!

SugarFrosted Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 10:59pm
post #7 of 17

Betty Crocker for me too, 20 years.

twinsmake5 Posted 3 Sep 2008 , 11:57pm
post #8 of 17

Duncan Hines for the last 32 years!

Granpam Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 12:29am
post #9 of 17

Duncan Hines and everyone raves. I Tried BC with no luck.

sweetness_221 Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:08am
post #10 of 17