Attaching Ribbon

Decorating By ClaireUK Updated 2 Sep 2008 , 8:15pm by lorrieg

ClaireUK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ClaireUK Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 8:34am
post #1 of 13

Hi, I'm still a newbie to cake decorting and i have just made my first wedding cake, they wanted very plain with just ribbon around the bottom of each tier, as it is the only colour on the cake i want to make sure its on properly.

Any tips on the best way to attach it?

thanks
Claire

12 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 8:39am
post #2 of 13

Are you using edible ribbon? If so, you just wind it around the cake. The fondant will stick easily. Fabric ribbon isn't food safe.

ClaireUK Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 8:51am
post #3 of 13

It is fabric ribbon, satin, how come its not safe? they sell it on the cake decorating supplies websites in the UK I would have thought if it wasn't safe they wouldn't sell it?

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 8:56am
post #4 of 13

Hi Claire, welcome to CC. I gather you are UK. You can attach the ribbon's by wetting a bit. I haven't done it myself. This is what I have read.

thumbs_up.gif

ClaireUK Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 8:59am
post #5 of 13

I have some edible glue but don't want to stain the ribbon or anything, perhaps i will just have to trial a bit with water and a bit with glue. thanks

lorrieg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lorrieg Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 9:04am
post #6 of 13

Claire, you can just wrap it around the cake and attach it at the back with a bit of icing. icon_smile.gif

murf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
murf Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 9:54am
post #7 of 13

Hi Claire from another UK lady - where are you??