Help!! Have Many Questions For This Cake

Decorating By HipnotiqGlamour Updated 2 Sep 2008 , 7:01pm by Deb_

HipnotiqGlamour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HipnotiqGlamour Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 4:03am
post #1 of 7

Okay so I have this cake due THIS weekend. Its for a quinceanera the sizes are 12'' 10'' 8''. First question is I have 2'' thick pans for a tiered cake would I do 3, 2'' cakes per tier???

I would have the 8 inch top tier on pillars the the bottom two together. They want butter cream with fondant accents.. OKAY next question... they want the letter A on the top tier, ive seen people do this before...do you make this out of gumpaste or fondant and how do you adhere it to the cake?

I understand this is kind of a big project for me seeing how i just started making tiered cakes but I let them know im a newbie and they didnt mind lol.

Also..im still learning on dowels and pillars.. how would I assemble this cake? OMG im freaking out here HELP!!!

6 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 4:27am
post #2 of 7

......I have 2'' thick pans for a tiered cake would I do 3, 2'' cakes per tier???...
Most tiers are 4" tall so you would do two 2" tiers. Filling is put between the two.
......letter A on the top tier, .do you make this out of gumpaste or fondant and how do you adhere it to the cake? ........
Gumpaste is best. Make it a few days ahead so it dries well. Put toothpicks on the back so you can push them into the cake & they will stand up.

.......still learning on dowels and pillars.. how would I assemble this cake........
You put straws in the lowest tier - about 6 or 8 of them around a 9" circle where the 10" cake will go.
Do not put any in the center - just around in a circle. Then in the 10" cake you put 3 or 4 straws in an 8" circle for the top tier to rest on.

HipnotiqGlamour Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 6:07am
post #3 of 7

Now if im putting the 8 inch cake on pillars do I still do the same to the middle tier?