Fondant Flowers

Baking By SweetDreamsAT Updated 16 Sep 2008 , 5:26pm by mjarvis78

SweetDreamsAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDreamsAT Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 4:00am
post #1 of 18

I would like to make little fondant flowers to put on top of my cupcakes. I've never worked with fondant before, but I have some cutters already. I bought some pre-made Wilton fondant today, and I have to say that it tastes disgusting. Is it possible to make flowers out of MMF? (I've heard that it has a good flavor) Or is there a recipe someone can recommend that is good for making little flowers?

17 replies
CakeFrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeFrog Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 4:18am
post #2 of 18

I like using MMF I've used it quite a bit, it does taste better, and its inexpensive, quick to make too. Little flowers would work I think.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 1:09pm
post #3 of 18

All my flowers are made out of MMF. So are my loopy bows and little people...it works great.

Really small flowers can go on the cupcakes right away, but if you've got something big or something that you want to be curved or to stand out from the cupcake, it's better to make them a day in advance so they will dry first.

SweetDreamsAT Posted 2 Sep 2008 , 1:18pm
post #4 of 18

Thank you! icon_smile.gif I've always been nervous about working with fondant, so this will be a good start. Its so nice to know I have CC for support.
Thanks again.

jackiee70 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jackiee70 Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 1:23am
post #5 of 18

Hi Sweetdreams,

I made the flowers in those cupcakes with a fondant i make; i do not like the premade fondant taste.
I really like to make my own fondant, not MMF, because for me is a little bit sticky... i use gelatin and syrop Karo.
Do you want the recipe...

Jackie

CakeFrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeFrog Posted 4 Sep 2008 , 4:18am
post #6 of 18