Help With Boy (9) And Girl (8) Joined Birthday Cake!!

Decorating By jennyped Updated 1 Sep 2008 , 6:43pm by kakeladi

jennyped Posted 1 Sep 2008 , 5:54am
post #1 of 3

Hi there,
I have been asked to do a joined Birthday cake for a 9 year old boy and an 8 year old girl. I thought of doing a stacked cake, but was wondering if anyone had any cool ideas?? I was thinking maybe a blue and pink cake, but was open to any suggestions please!!!

Also if I am going to use fondant, what sort of a cake do I have to use.....is it true that a lighter cake will just collapse? Can I use a mud cake? This is my first time using fondant, so any suggestions will be greatly appreciated as well as any pictures to go with the suggestions.

Thanks so much

2 replies
costumeczar Posted 1 Sep 2008 , 3:15pm
post #2 of 3

I'd do two separate cakes, personally. I have a boy and a girl and they'd be MAD if they had to share a cake, so anything that you can do to divide it up distinctly will probably make them happy.

Maybe you could do an arrangement like a sheet cake with two separate small rounds on top, and one decorated personally for each kid. I'd keep the colors more gender-neutral, because if that 9-yr-old boy has pink anywhere on his birthday cake (even if it's his sister's side) he'll hate it. Green is always good, my 8-yr-old daughter says. (I ran this by her, and you should have seen her expression when I told her the situation, She said "For a minute I thought you were going to suggest that I share a cake with him... I would be SO...MAD!!!)

Do they both have a toy or game that they like? You could decorate it like Pokemon or a Nintendo game if they both like those. Mario is always good. Maybe a Mario-themed cake with the stars and clouds like in the game, then small rounds for each of them to have on their own?

kakeladi Posted 1 Sep 2008 , 6:43pm
post #3 of 3