Wilton Class Question

Decorating By mandysue Updated 29 Aug 2008 , 9:26pm by gingersoave

mandysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandysue Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 6:01pm
post #1 of 10

I'm trying to decide what to do....I want to take Wilton classes and the nearest is 41 miles away. I have been doing cake decorating for a few years, but am not comfortable with wedding cakes or flowers. Mostly, I do birthday cakes, almost always buttercream with fondant accents. What I can't decide is if I should start with Course I and work through all of the courses, or if Basic means REALLY BASIC, and Course I would be a waste of my time and money.

Thanks for your input!
Mandy

9 replies
RStarr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RStarr Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 6:09pm
post #2 of 10

It has been my experience that the basic class means REALLY BASIC!

bambuf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bambuf Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 6:13pm
post #3 of 10

In Course 1 you learn star tip decorating, figure piping, shell borders, roses, etc. If you already know these things, then you may want to consider moving on to Course 2. Some instructors, however, may require you to take Course 1 before taking the other courses, as it is listed as a prerequisite.

When I first took the classes, I was already familiar with all of those techniques (self-taught) but there were still many techniques in the class that made it worth the cost and the time. HTH! icon_smile.gif

ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 6:13pm
post #4 of 10

I've been through all 4 Wilton Classes. Course 1 basically discusses covering a cake in buttercream, borders (shells, etc). and Wilton roses, which is why I took the class and decided to continue on to learn all the other BC flowers. In my location, in order to conitnue to future courses, you had to have the previous one under your belt... so to take course 2, you had to have a certificate from course 1.