Half And Half Cakes

Decorating By amymc54 Updated 28 Aug 2008 , 5:49pm by ceshell

amymc54 Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:21am
post #1 of 13

I am new at cake baking and i want to do a 1/2 sheet cake with half chocolate cake and half white. can anyone tell me how to do this? icon_sad.gif

12 replies
jibbies Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:30am
post #2 of 13

Grease and flour the pan. Make the white cake first, pour it in the pan on one end. Make sure you have the pan propped up on one end with kitchen towels then make your chocolate cake I make it in the same bowl no washing. Take the towels out from under the pan, pour the chocolate in, use a spoon to make sure that the two mixes touch. Bake as usual, and voila, you have a half and half cake. I have one due on Saturday morning. These are very popular espically with childrens parties.

debster Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:33am
post #3 of 13

Make a 9x13 which is a 1/4 sheet chocolate and one vanilla and sit them side by side on a 1/2 sheet board and frost. I do make mine with 2 mixes each you want the cake over half way full for a thick cake. HTH

I've tried what Jibbies does but my chocolate takes longer to cook cause it has more oil so this way works best for me. I say whatever works for you do it.

tlreetz Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:35am
post #4 of 13

I make these all the time in my business. I mix up both batters and pour simultaniously on opposite ends. Works great!!! They do NOT mix and you will have a perfect half and half cake!!

nicksmom Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 2:46am
post #5 of 13