Help...i'm Almost In Tears ...

Decorating By colabear71 Updated 3 Sep 2008 , 2:45am by colabear71

colabear71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
colabear71 Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 12:31am
post #1 of 23

I am somewhat new to cake decorating. I am currently taking the 3rd Wilton course. I have been struggling to make my fondant roses and am almost in tears icon_cry.gif . I have had no problems with any of the other 2 courses, but I'm having lots of problems with fondant.

I made mmf to use for my roses. I used the simple (mm, water, sugar) recipe. I don't know if I put too much sugar or too much grease...but my flowers won't turn out. Every time I go to thin or flair the petal edges with the ball tool, the petals either tear under the ball tool or they pull off of the group of petals. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I would appreciate any words of advice anyone has to offer.

I'm a very visual person and have watched several videos on U tube, and I'm doing what I see, but the petals are still tearing. Or they don't tear, but when I go to move the petals to place on the bud, they fold, stick to themselves or tear.

Also, this evening I tried making Rhonda's fondant recipe and I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. I followed the directions to the T...but although I greased my hands and counter...the fondant kept sticking to both. I'm afraid of using too much shortening...but what is too much?

Please....any suggestions or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kim

22 replies
panipuri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
panipuri Posted 28 Aug 2008 , 12:36am
post #2 of 23