Instructions For Gumpaste Hibiscus

Decorating By Daisys_Cakes Updated 29 Jul 2011 , 4:58pm by AmyJones

Daisys_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Daisys_Cakes Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 15

Hi!

After receiving multiple requests for instructions on how I made my hibiscus I have decided to do a "how to". This is my first time doing one so bear with me if my instructions are not clear enough!

I started by rolling the fondant thin enough so I could see through it slightly, I then cut out five large circles and placed 4 under a plastic covering so they did not dry out. I took the 5th petal and placed it on the leaf veiner found in the Wilton Gumpaste Flower kit (you can buy it at Michaels for $20.00 it's got lots of great stuff including the cutters and tutorial I used for the orchid in my gallery) and then rolled over it with a small rolling pin once or twice to get the impression (make sure you don't press to hard or it will tear the gumpaste, also if the gumpaste does not hold the impression I found that it is usually because it is too dry or it is too thin). Then I placed the petal on my thin foam and took my ball tool and ruffled the edges. I did the same with the other 4 petals and arranged them in a large muffin tin cup. I used water to glue the petals together making sure they overlapped. To make the pistil I simply rolled a thin piece of gumpaste, placed some yellow stamens in the end and let it dry slightly curved. I then glued it to the center of the flower using water and placed cotton balls around it to hold it in place.

HTH! If you have any more questions please feel free to ask me!

Thanks! thumbs_up.gif
LL

14 replies
Atomikjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Atomikjen Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 3:36pm
post #2 of 15

thank you for sharing that!