Decorator At A Grocery Store

Decorating By lflowermoon Updated 3 Sep 2008 , 11:46am by robinscakes

lflowermoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lflowermoon Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:15pm
post #1 of 31

Can I ask everybody what is expected when working for a grocery store? This is a picture of one of my cakes, and shows the kind of work I do.
Somebody asked to interview me for a grocery store chain, but I am a little concerned...
LL

30 replies
shellzey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shellzey Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:27pm
post #2 of 31

i'm not a pro, but i think your work is beautiful. i say you go for it and have confidence in yourself =)

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 31
lflowermoon Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:35pm
post #4 of 31

icon_smile.gif Thank you!
I usually work with fondant, so I am afraid that if they want something iced in buttercream, and decorated fast and simple, I am not their ideal candidate.Seeing my pictures is one thing, but decorating a cake as part of the interview is different ...It is not a designer bakery...

raggedyanne78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
raggedyanne78 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:36pm
post #5 of 31

I used to work as a cake decorator in a grocery store bakery. The store I worked at didn't do any baking, just decorating. So, we'd defrost sheet cakes that had already been iced, and the only thing we were to do was put a border on and an edible image. They really didn't have the supplies or give us the time to do creative cakes such as the one you have posted. They really do expect you to mass produce cakes... Again, that was just my experience, hope it helped.

Julia

lflowermoon Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:37pm
post #6 of 31

I saw the post, but they talk mostly about the pay. I would like to know more about the usual kind of work in a chain grocery store

AmyCakes2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyCakes2 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:37pm
post #7 of 31