Ganache Filling Questions

Decorating By heather1 Updated 30 Jun 2013 , 4:15pm by KateCoughlin

heather1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heather1 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 2:11am
post #1 of 16

I am wanting to use chocolate ganache for a filling in my cake, but I've never used it before so I dont know the first thing about using it as a filling. I have made ganache to ice cupcakes before but it seems to slightly harden and I want something creamy for in between my layers. Any tips or your favorite recipe would be greatly appreciated.

15 replies
maimai16 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maimai16 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 2:32am
post #2 of 16

hi heather1 icon_biggrin.gif

try to read on this...
http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-596293.html

alot of infos are found here about ganache...

happy reading icon_biggrin.gif

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 9:09am
post #3 of 16

You can use Ganache mixed with buttercream, as your filling too. icon_smile.gif

amysue99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amysue99 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 9:40am
post #4 of 16

Chill it and whip it with a mixer. The ganache becomes light and fluffy.

ChefJon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChefJon Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 9:52am
post #5 of 16

I suggest adding a bit more heavy cream into your recipe, chill it, and then whip it. With the extra cream you can whip it to a soft peak rather than a stiff. In turn, it will make it easy to spread.

jules1719 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jules1719 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 1:47pm
post #6 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by amysue99

Chill it and whip it with a mixer. The ganache becomes light and fluffy.

I don't know what kind of chocolate you use but this statement isn't true for all chocolates and all ganaches. I see this all over this forum and it's deceptive.