Staking Cakes An 2 Other Questions

Decorating By bflykisses01 Updated 26 Aug 2008 , 2:37pm by lilahcakes

bflykisses01 Posted 25 Aug 2008 , 9:12pm
post #1 of 8

Ok, I'ma bit of a dummy, I am very new to this and I'm planning on making my daughters cake gfor her 1st bday.. so ofcourse I want it to be as perfect as possible.. so 1) how do I stack a cake on a stand without it sinking to the bottom cake, 2) do i decorat the cake then transfer it to the stand or do I decorate it on the stand it's going to be presented on last but not least .. what/ how do I move a decorated cake on to a stand , is there some special gadget I shoulod use... please help me cake experts icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif

thanks a million!!!!!

7 replies
becklynn Posted 25 Aug 2008 , 9:15pm
post #2 of 8

There is a great video on youtube called "Assembling a Wedding Cake" that shows you how to put dowels in your cake, then stack.

I would decorate it right on the stand it's going to be on.

Good luck!

SeriousCakes Posted 26 Aug 2008 , 12:11am
post #3 of 8

I also have a video on youtube showing how to stack a cake, I also like to do most of the decorations after it's stacked:

becklynn Posted 26 Aug 2008 , 2:27am
post #4 of 8

seriouscakes:
WOW I loved your video! That's awesome the way you pipe your roses right on top of the cake! I'm jealous! I can't even do them on a flower nail!

bflykisses101:
I have also used the large bubble tea straws for support. as long as you have something to support your tiers, you'll be fine.

SeriousCakes Posted 26 Aug 2008 , 2:39am
post #5 of 8

becklynn-lol, that's why I pipe them right on the cake, I hate the flower nail!! It tasks me icon_mad.gificon_lol.gif

lilahcakes Posted 26 Aug 2008 , 3:01am
post #6 of 8