Question About Mff! Help! :s

Decorating By MeMo07 Updated 23 Aug 2008 , 4:58pm by all4cake

MeMo07 Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 3:23pm
post #1 of 10

I was planning on making Michele Foster's Fondant today for my sisters Doll cake- I have 5 lbs of Satin Ice (Which I've never used before :S) to do the dress with, but since I was doing an extra layer to the dress, I figure I will need more than the 72 ounces the wilton instructions call for (Which still seems like alot!)

The issue is that I didn't know it needed to sit for 24 hours before using it- this cake needs to be done in like, 26 hours! lol. Is it usable before the 24 hours? Or is it necessary to wait that long? Thanks...icon_smile.gif

9 replies
MnSnow Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 3:36pm
post #2 of 10

There's a recipe for jello fondant in the recipe section. You can use plain gelatin in place of jello. It only needs to rest for an hour before you can use it. Maybe try that

MeMo07 Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 4:04pm
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MnSnow

There's a recipe for jello fondant in the recipe section. You can use plain gelatin in place of jello. It only needs to rest for an hour before you can use it. Maybe try that

Hmmmm...do you mean plain jello in the place of gelatin? I don' t have any of that...I really don't wanna have to use Wilton either, LOL.

Pghnana Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 4:09pm
post #4 of 10

How close is the jello fondant in texture and how it goes on a cake compared to Satin Ice and Pettinice?

sadsmile Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 4:25pm
post #5 of 10

Isn't MMf closer in texture? It's super easy to make and usable in a couple hours.

MeMo07 Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 4:29pm
post #6 of 10

Maybe I'll try the MMF then.....:S

I've only worked with MFF once, so I guess it won't be too big of an adjustment, lol.

sadsmile Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 4:36pm
post #7 of 10