Transportation And Fillings ?

Decorating By cakedivamommy Updated 23 Aug 2008 , 8:31pm by sadsmile

cakedivamommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedivamommy Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 8:36pm
post #1 of 11

Hello! Please bear with me as this is my first post and I am relatively new to cake decorating but I have a few questions.

I have just been asked to make a birthday cake for a relative needed tomorrow. I am making a yellow cake and wanted to use a chocolate mousse filling. The cake is going to have to travel approx 1 hour and will be sitting out for an hour before being cut. Will a mousse filling with BC icing hold up being out for 2 hours? If anyone has any simple recipes that will hold up well sitting out I would GREATLY appreciate it! THANK YOU for your help!

Lisa

10 replies
PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 9:22pm
post #2 of 11

It will be fine as long as it is very well chilled (preferably overnight) before those two hours.

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 9:31pm
post #3 of 11

opps posted it twice... icon_redface.gif

sadsmile Posted 22 Aug 2008 , 9:31pm
post #4 of 11

If you don't want it to buckle out the sides you could use a dam of marzipan or make a small batch of rolled BC and flavor it to match your filling. Make a thick snake and place around the edge. A nice firm dam helps suport the edges and prevent the filling from buldging out the sides. And rolled BC tatses like candy. I make mine from all butter(no crisco)sicne it's on the inside cracking isn't an issue and everyone loves it. Try adding some coco powder along with your PS and a pinch of salt to balance the sweetness.

cakedivamommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedivamommy Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 7:27pm
post #5 of 11

THANKS for your replies!

sadsmile~ Do you mind sharing the recipe for your rolled bc?

sadsmile Posted 23 Aug 2008 , 7:43pm
post #6 of 11