New Here...question About Transferring Roses...

Decorating By HeathJS28 Updated 22 Aug 2008 , 2:15am by tasteebakes

HeathJS28 Posted 21 Aug 2008 , 7:19pm
post #1 of 6

Hey all. I'm new here and found this forum while trying to find ideas for my daughters first birthday cake. For the Party cake, I did the dancing daisy Wilton pan. I did a sample a month or so ago...

This was my trial go at it and also late at night. So, forgive that it's not spectacular. icon_lol.gif

Anyway, so for her smash cake...I went a little over the top I think. I am new to cake decorating and wanted to try my hand at some roses and daisys for her cake. I made the roses last night, and played around with making the daisy's. Both turned out moderately well. I'm using the Wilton premade icing in the tubs. Anyway, I did them on squares of parchment paper. How do I get roses OFF the parchment paper and placed onto my cake with out damaging the roses? Also, since the daisy's are do I get them off. Will they dry hard and just slide off? I am not really sure as the book (Wilton course 1 & 2) doesn't really cover how to get them OFF the cake. I'm also self teaching that might explain some of my ignorance. icon_lol.gif

Yes, I know...a little of the top for the smash cake, but it's just something I wanted to do...and I didn't have time to do a BIG cake for everybody and decorated it nicely like that.

Any help, suggestions will be appreciated. Her party is Saturday. Right now my roses are cooling it in the fridge. icon_lol.gif[img][/img]

5 replies
JoAnnB Posted 21 Aug 2008 , 7:27pm
post #2 of 6

Welcome to Cake Central. The flowers can be frozen and then transfered with a small knife or spatula. You can also use scissors to lift the flower from the paper. Work quickly, as they thaw, the flowers get sticky fast.

Depending on the icing, you can also air-dry them. once they are a bit 'crusty' they transfer fairly easy in the same manner

HeathJS28 Posted 21 Aug 2008 , 8:25pm
post #3 of 6