Grrr What Do I Do Now?

Business By andiesweet Updated 20 Aug 2008 , 12:49pm by CakesByJen2

andiesweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andiesweet Posted 20 Aug 2008 , 1:33am
post #1 of 15

OK so I'm new to this cake thing as a busines. I ve done a few birthday cakes and a couple of weddings for $. Word is getting around a little bit and a few people have called anyway... this bride called me 10 days ago. She is getting married in 2 weeks and doesn't have cake yet could I do a tasting for her etc... I say ok and bake up some stuff for her to taste ( she asked for van and choc and fillings to go with both). On the day of the tasting she calls me to tell me she forgot a prior engagement and would like to reschedule ( grr#1).

So now it's the day of the resceduled tasting, and she decides on her way to the tasting that she doesn't want to be "like everyone else" with a choc or van cake blah blah. So now I have baked all of this for nothing. (grr#2)I tell her other flavors that i do and what people seem to like. she picks the flavors and design and I get my deposit , in cash.( she is paying $360 for a fondant cake for 60 ppl)

Yesterday I went shopping for everything to do the cake, for this Saturday. then this morning my phone rings. Guess who...? anyone? Bingo the bride calls to tell me she is postponing the wedding for 3 weeks. ( grr#3!) Now I have all this stuff sitting in my fridge. some of it will expire before I need to use it.My DH says to charge her to replace the perishable items. I don't know what to do. Has this happened to anyone else? and How did you handle it?

14 replies
sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 20 Aug 2008 , 1:47am
post #2 of 15

Ugh! never had this happen, but if you just bought your supplies yesterday can't you just return it?
I do know that's not the point the bride is a PITA and gas isnt free but returning would be better than having stuff in your fridge you don't need.