Newbie Deperately Needs Help

Decorating By makandmatsmom Updated 20 Aug 2008 , 4:48pm by MacsMom

makandmatsmom Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 7:20pm
post #1 of 19

You may think I am crazy for wanting to make this cake, seeing as I am relatively new to cake decorating. My daughter's 4th birthday is coming up and I wanted to make her a Hannah Montana (she is crazy about her) guitar cake. I just have so many questions, as I am clueless icon_sad.gif I was planning on buying the Wilton guitar pan. Do I use two of these cakes to make a double layer, I don't want the cake to be too small. Also, is it better to use traditional icing or fondant? What is the best cake recipe to make a shaped cake? Sorry for all the questions.

18 replies
lesyorkwolf Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 7:32pm
post #2 of 19

I always make my cakes with three layers...personal preference. The choice is up to you. You can also torte your cake to make it two layers. You dont have to buy the wilton pan. I make a lot of templates out of brown paper bags and then cut cake out of appropriate sized pan....9x13 in your case? If new, I would use buttercream and then maybe use fondant to accent (guitar strings, etc)? Just dont use wilton fondant...yucky taste! The white almond sour cream cake here makes a great cake! Good luck! icon_biggrin.gif

biancas_mommy Posted 19 Aug 2008 , 7:37pm
post #3 of 19

you're not crazy! my first cakes were for my daughter's birthdays, too. what better place to start? luckily the wilton shaped pans are really made for beginners so you should have no problem. when you buy it, it'll come with a really detailed instruction booklet with baking instructions and decorating instructions for several different designs, and you should be able to get ideas from that and go from there with your hannah montana theme. were you thinking of putting the hannah logo on it or something?